Brian The Unofficial Barbados Tour Guide

Quite pleased as Brain has managed to be the 1000th photo uploaded to the Barbados Photographic Societies facebook page :)

I have a confession to make! I have actually put out this post and my last post in the wrong order :s The shoot I did with Brittinee was later on in the afternoon, all this stuff happened first, this post should have really gone first but I got a bit excited as Brittinee’s photos came out so good… anyway I am not sorry but I thought I should just let you all know :D I have also been told off as the first location I took Brittinee I actually found with my Mum when she was here and she was very upset not to have a mention (Hi Mum… wave…) who knew there was so much policitcs with blogging!

This is Brian, Brian is an unofficial tour guide for Barbados. I also worked out after the day was through that he was also a bit of a lier! See if you can spot them ;)

If you want to hire a car over here in Barbados you have a wide selection of Japanese imports from big pick up trucks to small run arounds but all hire cars number plates star with a big letter H. This means when your driving your hire car around everyone knows its a hire car. This does have its advantages, if you ever got lost and need to pull a big u turn in the road or you end up in the wrong lane on a round about people don’t really think twice as you have H plates on. Very handy! But even if you have been living here for nearly 12 months and are a wonderful driver (most of the time) because you are driving around with massive H’s on your car people will think your a tourist!

Brian did just that and as he saw me driving along with the two girls in the back of the car with my H plates all over the place he shouted as we drove past “Road closed, Road closed!” which of course immediately caused some discussion in the car and me to stop to try and work out what was going on. This gave Brain the chance to come over and have a chat. We were trying to find the Animal Flower Caves in the north of the island (and one day I will get straight there without getting lost!) Brain asked us where we were going and asked if we wanted to go and see some special places that most tourists don’t know about. We where all lucky as he was going that way anyway because he had some business down there and needed the lift, we wanted to go and see some nice views so two birds with one stone and all that. We set off down the road that we where heading down any way and as if by magic the road seemed to be open again. Must have been because we had Brain with us. While we where driving we got the chance to try some locally grown sugar cane that Brain had conveniently chopped up in a little bag and was very kind to share with us.

Brain took us to a place called Cove Bay and the views there where amazing, it was right off the road down a long beaten track but it was well worth the drive.

Living the dream!

Brian was telling us that from that very spot you can see 7 different parishes and to mark that point the tourist board put in a little marker, while it was drying Brain managed to write his name in and put the date! We walked back to the car and I felt pleased we had found a new spot and had given to a local to help him out with his business! We got into the car and then Brain got in to…

“I thought you had some business to take care of” I said,

“nah I have one more spot to show you first” said Brian,

“Oh…”

So by this point I started to think we were going to have this little stow away in the car with us all day but luckily he got the point very quickly that I had had enough of him.

The second spot he took us to was amazing, its a place called Little Bay. The tide had managed to carve out these pools where sea water would get caught in and you could sit and bath safely while allot of dramatic wave crashing was happening just a few meter away. Another really good find and somewhere I will be taking my sister I think! After we took the sites in we got back into the car, Brain then gave us the directions to the Animal Flower Cave not before telling us where we could drop him off. When we got to the drop of this is where it came to a climax and finally Brain told us who he really was;

“As I have given you this wonderful tour” he said “could you spare a fifty for the trouble”

We paid, he got out happy and then we left for the caves.

Answers on a post card please ;) Don’t forget my sister is coming on Wednesday and I am really hoping to get some Exchanges sorted for when she arrives (Lena I will be in touch :) so if your interested drop me a line. Also if you have enjoyed reading please don’t forget to subscribe.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Brian The Unofficial Barbados Tour Guide

  1. andyetbandit says:

    Superbe blog :)

So... What did you think? :)

