Problog 1 – Clubbing Photography

I have been inspired to look back in time a little by another friend and photographer Ms Findlay who has a great talent (and patience i would imagine) for taking beautiful pictures of wildlife. I think it would be a good idea at this point to see how I got to… this point so I thought I would right my first prologue or a problog… no, no takers! :D

I first truly got into photography while I was at University; I studied a fine art degree at UCCA (University Collage of Creative Arts) in Canterbury. This was a great course as I got to experiment with every medium. Photography very quickly got my attention especially digital photography as I always enjoyed how instant and quick it was. It was through working at a bar, so I could pay to eat while at uni, that I met a pair of DJ’s Thom Burgess and John Rickets, Mezza Sound System (who sadly don’t play together anymore but they are still both doing there own thing) and they invited me to come to one of there nights to have a go at clubbing photography. After an amazing night and a telling of for taking university equipment to a club I was hooked.

Thom Burgess

John Rickets

These images were taken on my very first outing and are still two of my all time favourites. I had borrowed a 350D with a wide angle lens (forget which one now and it was from uni) and this was taken with the built in flash! But they will always sum up that first great night for me.

After this I was quickly asked to be there official photographer and I very quickly agreed and I will always be thankful as I have been to some incredible places, met some great people and just had the best time with those guys so thank you.

While doing this I found a site which allowed me to share my photographs with fellow clubbers (www.dontstayin.com I looked the other day and my account is still active so if your interested in seeing a few more have a look, search for Creasy) and very quickly became a ProSpotter (I lost the status sadly once I moved home as you have to keep up the numbers)

Then finally the big call came and I will always remember it, I was getting ready for work (I was working at the time as a KP in a bar) it was raining outside and I was running late because I could not find my cap. Then the phone rang and it was a DJ called Kirk Watson and he had phoned to ask if I wanted to come with him to take photographs in The Box, Ministry of Sound, London. I tried to play it cool but I think an overly excited, yes… when do you want me, came out!

The mezza boys then teamed up with HeadRoc and Sellenge Festival and put on there own dance tent The HeadRoc Areana (still to this day one of my favriot festivals I have ever been to) I was lucky enough to be invited as there official photographer to the tent and was lucky enough to photograph greats such as Eddie Temple Morris and many more.

There has been many many more great nights, more than I could possible talk about on here and probably remember but doing these events and taking these photographs have had a massive influence on my life and really turned my photography into a passion so I would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone I have ever met while I have been out with my camera you truly inspired the work that you see before you and the photographer I am today. Also Thom Burgess who is a great DJ an even better graphic designer and my good friend who has given me more opportunity’s then I have known want to do with.

So in short a quick look back at clubbing photography. Coming up next will be the cruise ship days

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Problog 1 – Clubbing Photography

  1. Amazing colors, I really like the idea of movement in each picture, though even stills are truly amazing> Anything that has to deal with human interaction on a daily basis(in this case at a party) fascinates me being the recluse I am. My favs are the last two, and what a hottie :P. Luc

  2. Rachel says:

    Love them. Love Creasy.

  3. mayur hulsar says:

    the making of a photographer!!! waiting for the second part, James…

  4. Storm Rider says:

    wow! real cool!

  5. creasyo says:

    Thanks guys, Mayur took me a while to put that one together. I think the 2nd one will take even longer but its coming :)

    Thanks for the support xx

So... What did you think? :)

